Skip to content

Daddy – i belong to You!

April.26.2009

Here is a quote from a book I am currently reading, “the furious longing of God”.

  • “American child psychologists tell us that the average American baby’s.. first word normally spoken.. is da – da, da, daddy.  A little Jewish child speaking Aramaic in first-century Palestine at that same age level would begin to say ab – ab, ab, Abba.  Jesus’ revelation was nothing less than a revolution.  From that moment on, no Christian can ever say one form of prayer is as good as another or one form of religion is as good as another.  Jesus is saying that we can address the infinite, transcendent, almighty God with the intimacy, familiarity, and unshaken trust that a sixteen-month-old baby has sitting on his father’s lap – da, da, daddy.  Is your own personal prayer life characterized by the simplicity, childlike candor, boundless trust, and easy familiarity of a little one crawling up in Daddy’s lap?  An assured knowing that daddy doesn’t care if the child falls asleep, starts playing with toys, or even starts chatting with little friends, because the daddy knows the child has essentially chosen to be with him for that moment?  Is that the spirit of your interior prayer life?”

My Daddy has been teaching me lately about the last couple sentences in this quote.  He doesn’t care if we fall asleep, start playing with the toys He provides, or even if we talk to others, because He knows that we have chosen to be with Him.  This reality stretches further than my words can – but this is my attempt to go far enough that you may glance upon The reality as well.  

 

My joy comes from my God, my Abba, my Daddy.

 

He deeply and furiously longs for me.

 

I am his beloved.  

 

This joy that spurs out of knowing and enjoying Him brings Him glory.  It was what I was created for.  It is beholding the greenness of the grass and leaves; it is being entranced by how water moves over smooth rocks – gliding and glistening in the spring sun; it is hearing His Spirit move others’ hearts and mouths to speak and fit perfectly into mine – while they don’t try to and are not aware; it is seeing His perfectly engineered creation in this world and understanding slowly (by His grace) that everything is a shadow of what is to come – even those deemed as ‘unsacred things’ by those with blind eyes.  It is Him putting music, silence, people, nature, and events into my divinely planned route that He may speak to my spirit and my spirit may continually praise His glorious grace.

 

how i love my Daddy.

 

He is who will forever furiously long for me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

