Skip to content

discount tire

July.10.2009

I spent a good hour and a half* in Discount Tire today buying a new tire because one of mine was broken. While I was there, I was reading, writing, and thinking about much of the circumstances / relationships / events that are manifesting in my life right now.  As this was happening, I would occasionally look up to see guys taking off tires and either fixing them (if they were fixable) or replacing them (if they weren’t).  This drew me to think about how God is our perfect fixer – stay with me here.

I break myself alot.**  But I am never beyond fixing.  And my Creator is constantly fixing me – whether it be something minor like low air pressure due to the weather or it be a long-time coming blow-out.  Nothing that I get myself into is beyond His fixing.  He is the Founder and Perfecter of my faith.  The whole Founder aspect of it all is important, don’t get me wrong – it’s essential.  But Him being my Perfecter is mind-blowing to me.  He not only chose me from before the foundations of the world, came to me while I was completely disgusting and dead – because of and sitting in my own sin, and transferred me from the kingdom of darkness into the Kingdom of light, but He also perfects me.  The Lord is still and every day taking what I myself cannot seem to redeem on my own and redeeming it through me and for me – for His glory.

And that is what He gets pleasure from.

.

“[Let us look] to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.”

Hebrews 12:2

——

*  When I say good hour and a half, I don’t mean it how people use it normally.  I really mean that hour and a half I spent sitting on a broken bar stool was actually a very good hour and a half.

** And sometimes He breaks me – only that He may fix me more deeply.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

