Skip to content

the present: the mostly-satisfying never-sufficing time

August.24.2009

I just started reading Slaughterhouse-Five, by Kurt Vonnegut.  I’ve never read it before and enjoy fiction semi-along this line (some of my favorites have been Fahrenheit 451, 1984, and Anthem) – so I thought I’d try it.  This morning I discovered a jewel – one of the many that I’m anticipating the Lord will use to encourage me – even though I’m only on page 18.  It was just laying there on the page, waiting patiently for me to fall upon it:

  • “We went to the New York World’s Fair, saw what the past had been like, according to the Ford Motor Car Company and Walt Disney, saw what the future would be like, according to General Motors. And I asked myself about the present: how wide it was, how deep it was, how much was mine to keep.” – Vonnegut
One Comment leave one →
  1. August.27.2009 1:41pm

    tiffany – i am wondering what encouraged you so much about this quote. i like vonnegut. and i am often encouraged by literature and the things that i read. so i wonder what about this quote you felt so connected to. give us a bit more. see you tonight. – kevin

Leave a Reply

